> 게시판 > 공지사항


APCTP, AAPPS join hands in discovering and honoring promising physics scholars
2019-11-18 [10:22]
APCTP, AAPPS join hands in discovering
and honoring promising physics scholars

- AAPPS-APCTP CN Yang Award given to young Asian physicists from Australia and China

AAPPS and APCTP announced on that Professor Igor Aharonovich from the University of Technology Sydney, Professor Xiong-Jun Liu from Peking University, and Professor Song He from the Chinese Academy of Science have been selected as the three finalists for this year’s AAPPS-APCTP CN Yang Award for promising young physicists from the Asia-Pacific region.

The AAPPS-APCTP CN Yang Award was established to commemorate the achievement of young physicists who have shown outstanding research performance in the Asia-Pacific region. As of this year, it is jointly awarded by the Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS) and the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP). 
   * AAPPS: The physics association of 16 countries in the Asia-Pacific region. The world’s top three physics associations with the ones in the United States (APS) and Europe (EPS)
   * APCTP: International research institute with participation by 17 member countries in the Asia-Pacific region

Professor Igor Aharonovich was commended for his pioneering studies of quantum emitters in two-dimensional materials and wide bandgap semiconductors, contributing to the development of the next-generation of quantum nano-devices. Professor Xiong-Jun Liu and Professor Song He have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to ultracold atomic research and the amplitude calculation and theoretical understanding of quantum field theory (QFT), expected to be the basis for studies of particle physics in the future. 

The 2019 AAPPS-APCTP CN Yang Award will be presented at the 14th Asia Pacific Physics Conference, which will be held November 17–22 in Kuching, Malaysia.
In commemoration of their achievements, the citations of the awardees are listed below.

이전글 다음글